[REVIEW] Skinfood Parsley and Mandarin Essence

Read on for a review of Skinfood’s Parsley and Mandarin Essence!

Skin Type: Oily/Acne Prone. Combo in the winter.

Today’s review will be on the first AB product I had to actually wait a long time for and that is the Skinfood Parsley and Mandarin Essence!

I was very excited when this came in because reading about how “essence is essential” made me feel like this was probably going to be the most important part of my baby collection of Asian beauty products. To say the least, this stuff worked pretty great for me. Now, PHOTOS AND MORE TALKING!

Skinfood Parsley and Mandarin Essence - Front

It is a 35 ml bottle and I bought it so long ago, my Ebay history no longer shows it. Very sad, yes. Not to worry, it was not expensive at all.

UGH, I really wish I remembered where I got it.

Nonetheless, I got it in between two weeks and a month and was pleasantly surprised by how nice it smelled. I was sure the parsley would overtake the sweet yumminess of the mandarin but I was wrong. Neither of these scents stood out to me but the scent was pleasurable. While it is scented, it is not offensive to those sensitive to smells. It is light and almost lotion-y. I wanna say a veeeeeeeeeeeeery light version of the almond scented Jergens lotion.

Bottle and Cap

The bottle sports a hygienic pump top that puts out just enough product. I used about two pumps worth for my entire face and neck area.

DSC00331

DSC00332

I could not for the life of me find the ingredients. I cannot speak or read Korean and wish I could translate the bottle for you, but sadly, this is not possible. Even the Skinfood website did not have the ingredients. But there is the description!

DSC00327

This is a single pump of product on freshly cleansed hands. It is a very light and creamy texture, very similar to the Mizon All In One cream but not as runny.

DSC00328

This is the product smoothed out twice. It looks like *ahem* a milk. Milky product. Like a shmear of uh, milk. That is what it looks like. Just milk. Nothing else.

DSC00329

This is the essence after it is rubbed in completely. It is clear, non-greasy, and felt nice on my skin. I used up the entire bottle and it was great. At first I didn’t really feel like there was a difference in my skin using this, but when I stopped my routine for a while (’cause I’m lazy) my skin missed this like people miss Mizon’s AHA/BHA toner. Seriously, Mizon. I wanted to try it. I will not be repurchasing this not because I did not like it, but because I am venturing off into more “adult” skincare needs. I bought this essence to help keep my normally ALWAYS HORMONAL skin breakouts at bay and it did it’s job. I definitely recommend it to those who are just getting into Asian beauty with acne prone skin that needs a little umph or to those who find that the Skinfood brand works for them.

TL;DR:

Will I repurchase?: No. I’ve tried other things better suited for my skin type.

Rating: 3.5/5

HolyGrailSnail Status?: Not quite.

Leave a Comment